Finally
adventure

With the steam cog railway to the top of the Schafberg Mountain

A great excursion to the Schafberg by Lake Wolfgangsee

The steepest steam cog railway in Austria can be found in St. Wolfgang, just a short drive away from Ebner's Waldhof. For more than 100 years now the train has been carrying passengers from the lovely lake-side town of St. Wolfgnag to the Schafberg Peak at n 1,783 metres above sea level. The train was also featured in the world famous musical film "The Sound of Music". Of course you can also conquer the mountain on foot if you prefer. 

On August 1st  1893 the train embarked on the winding journey to the top of the Schafberg ´Mountain for the first time. Before this Austria's nobility were carried up by manually so that they could enjoy the fantastic views and healthy mountain air. The mountain was well known the Austria's Emporor Franz Joseph and the Empress Sissi who spent their summer holidays in the region, along with the rest of the Viennese high society,  to escape the stifling heat of Vienna's summers. 

What a great experience to enjoy on your holiday in the Salzkammergut Lake District

Reach for the Schafberg Peak by train or on foot 

The Schafberg train leaves the valley station every hour between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. You can see the unusual peak from Fuschl am See - a slanting chalkstone rock face wedged between the neighbouring mountains. The ride up with the train is breath-taking enough and the view from the very top is even better. 

If you'd rathe walk, you can look forward to a long but diversified hike as far as the train's middle station. From here on its steps all the way to the top. You are rewarded for your efforts with the stunnging views from the top of the surrounding Salzkammergut lakes and mountains.

At Ebner`s Waldhof you will be staying just a shor drive away from the Schafberg Mountain. Secure the rooms for your holiday now, for the dates of your choice by sending us a non-binding holiday enquiry. 

Finally vacation again!

Dear Waldhof friends, 
treat yourself to a well-deserved and carefree break at the beautiful Fuschlsee.

Receive a non-binding offer today.

The diversity of our offer is in no way restricted by the actual hygiene regulations.

Sprache wählen: English Polski Czech

Hauptmenü:


Inhalt:

Ausflug auf den Schafberg am Wolfgangsee

Mit der Dampflock auf den Schafberg-Gipfel

Die steilste Dampf-Zahnradbahn Österreichs führt seit mehr als hundert Jahren von St. Wolfgang auf den 1.783 Meter hohen Schafberg. Vom Ebner's Waldhof sind Sie in rund 30 Autominuten an der Talstation der Schafbergalm. Natürlich geht es auch zu Fuß auf den Gipfel des markanten Berges.

Der Schafberg am Wolfgangsee Am 01. August 1893 fuhr die Dampflok zum ersten Mal auf den Gipfel des Schafbergs. Vorher mussten Sesselträger die noblen Herrschaften auf den Gipfel tragen. Denn der besondere Reiz des Wolfgangsees blieb der Wiener High Society nicht verborgen. Das Kaiserpaar Sissi und Franz Joseph brachten Sommerfrische im Salzkammergut in Mode. Und dort, wo der Kaiser seinen Urlaub verbrachte, wollten auch alle anderen der gehobenen Gesellschaft ihre Sommertage genießen. Mit dem Bau der Zahnradbahn wurde der Gipfelsieg den adeligen Gästen leicht gemacht.

Zu Fuß oder mit der Schafbergbahn – ein herrliches Urlaubs-Erlebnis wartet auf Sie!

Die Schafbergbahn fährt jede Stunde zwischen 9:00 und 16:00 Uhr vom Tal auf den Schafberggipfel. Mit der Schafbergbahn geht es gemütlich zum Gipfel. Der markante Schafberg ist schon von Weitem sichtbar. Der mächtige Kalkklotz thront über dem Wolfgangsee und ist ein beliebter Aussichtsberg. Schon während der Fahrt mit der Schafbergbahn eröffnet sich Ihnen ein atemberaubendes Panorama.

Wer lieber zu Fuß gehen möchte, kann sich auf eine abwechslungsreiche Wanderung bis zur Mittelstation der Schafbergalm freuen, von dort führen Stufen bis zum Gipfel. Am Gipfel des Berges haben Sie einen schier grenzenlosen Blick auf das Salzkammergut – das Seen-Reich, das selbst Kaiser-Herzen im Sturm erobert hat.

In Ebner`s Waldhof wohnen Sie ganz in der Nähe des Schafbergs. Sichern Sie sich Ihr Hotelzimmer zum Wunschtermin und senden Sie noch heute eine unverbindliche Buchungsanfrage.

Menü des aktuellen Bereichs:

Urlaubsanfrage

Persönliche Urlaubsberatung
0043 6226 8264

Gästebewertungen

Golfclub Waldhof